Subscribe to South Asia Citizens Wire | feeds from | @sacw
Home > General > India: Film makers appeal to people to vote out BJP from power | 29 March (...)

India: Film makers appeal to people to vote out BJP from power | 29 March 2019

5 April 2019

print version of this article print version

[29 March 2019]

An Appeal to the People of India

Our country is going through the most testing times ever. Though culturally vivid and geographically diverse, we have always stayed united. As a nation. It has indeed been a great feeling to be a citizen of this wonderful country.

But all that is at stake now.

Fascism threatens to strike us hard with all its might if we don’t choose wisely in the coming Lok Sabha election. Period.

As we all know, ever since the BJP came to power in 2014, things have changed. And only for the worse. A country polarised along religious lines isn’t the India we have known. Besides, the BJP and its allies have failed miserably in keeping their election promises. They are now using mob lynching and cow vigilantism to split the country communally. Marginalizing Dalits and Muslims is the name of the game. They are spreading their hate campaigns with the help of the internet and social media. Patriotism is their trump card. Any individual or institution that raises the slightest dissent is labelled ‘anti-national’. ‘Patriotism’ is how they grow their vote bank. Let us not forget that some of our eminent writers and media persons lost their lives because they dared to dissent.

Romanticizing and exploiting the armed forces is one of their strategies. Even at the risk of engaging the nation in an unnecessary war. There is unrelenting onslaught on the cultural and scientific institutions in the country. They mock the collective intelligence of the people by appointing persons with no relevance or experience as heads of these institutions, propagating unscientific and irrational beliefs even at international science seminars, making us the laughing stock of the entire world. Banning and censoring ’works of art’, especially the most powerful of the lot - Cinema and Books - is their way of keeping the population away from the truth.

Farmers have been completely forgotten. In fact, the BJP has made the country the boardroom property of a handful of businessmen. Flawed economic policies that ended up as extreme disasters are covered up and made to look like successes. All with the help of false propaganda and marketing blitz. This has helped them to create a false optimism in the country.

Manipulation of statistics and history is another one of their fond projects. Giving them one more term in power will be a grave blunder. It could well be the last nail in the coffin for the biggest democracy in the world.

We urge all of you to do everything in your capacity to keep this harmful regime from coming back to power. Let your mandate be to choose a government that respects the Constitution of India, protects our freedom of speech and expression, and refrains from all kinds of censorship.

Yes, This is our last chance!

Signed by:

Aashiq Abu
Aarti Patel
Abhijnan Sarkar
Abhro Banerjee
Ashish Pawaskar
Ajayan Bala
Ambika Rao
Amitabha Chatterjee
Amshan Kumar
Amudhan R
Anand Patwardhan
Aneez K Mappila
Anirudda Sharma
Anjali Monteiro
Anjum Rajabali
Anupama Bose
Arun Karthick
Arun M
Arun N Sivan
Asha Achy Joseph
Asha Unnithan
B. Ajithkumar
Babu Easwar Prasad
Baburaj V G
Baburaj Pandavath
Bina Paul
C S Venkateswaran
Dar Ghai
Devashish Makhija
Debjani Banerjee
Deepa Dhanraj
Deepesh T
Dileep Daz
Divya Bharathi
Gobi Nayanar
Goutham Soorya
Gurvinder Singh
Indrasis Acharya
Indraneel Lahiri
Jayan Cheriyan
Jeeva K J
Jeeva Ponnuchamy
Jiju Antony
Jhelum Roy
Jubith Namradath
Kabir Singh Chowdhry
K B Venu
K P Jayashankar
Kombai S Anwar
Kamal K M
Kesari Haravoo
Leela Santhosh
Leena Manimekalai
Lenin Bharathi
Lijo Jose Pellissery
Maheen Mirza
Malini Jeevarathnam
Manisha Korde
Manoj Kana
M G Sasi
Miransha Naik
Maulik Raj
Muhsin Parari
Naushil Mehta
Nidhi Tuli
Nishant Radhakrishnan
Nishtha Jain
P F Mathews
Padmakumar Narasimhamurthy
Pa. Ranjith
Pradeep Nair
Pradeep Dipu
Pradipta Bhattacharyya
Prakash Bare
Pramod Payyannur
Prasanna S Kumar
Prasant Vijay
Pratap Jospeh
Prateek Vats
Praveen Morchhale
Prem Chand
Prema Revathi
Pushpendra Singh
Rahul Roy
Rafeeq Ellias
Rajani Mani
Rajeev Ravi
Rakesh Sharma
Ranjith Sankaran
Reena Mohan
Renu Savant
Ritesh Sil
R.R. Sreenivasan
Sajeevan Anthikkad
Saji Palamel
Sajin Baabu
sajitha madathil
Sanalkumar Sasidharan
Sandhya Goghale
Sanjay Chauhan
Sanjay Wadhwa
Sanju Surendran
Santosh Babusenan
Sapna Bhavnani
Sarvnik Kaur
Satish Babusenan
Shaji Mathew
Sharad Raj
Sherief Easa
Sherry Govindan
Sreebala K Menon
Subhash KR
Sukhpreet Kahlon
Suman Mukhopadhyay
Sunny Joseph
Suresh Achoos
Unni Vijayan
Vani Subramanian
Vetri Maaran
Venu ISC
Vidhu Vincent
Viju Varma
Vinu Kolichal
Vinod Raja


The above appeal that appeared on is reproduced here in public interest and is for educational and non-commercial use